Eastman Black History Events

February 4 – 6–7 p.m. EST (5–6 p.m. CST)

Dr. Clayborne Carson, scholar, author, professor, civil rights historian, and director of
the Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute at Stanford University
“What is Black History Month? Slavery to Today, Imagining a World Where …”
(lecture) Introduced by Elaine Washington

February 11 – 6–7 p.m. EST (5–6 p.m. CST)

Spruell Driver, African American trailblazer, first African American Eastman attorney,
and current contracts officer at Vanderbilt University
“Life Story – Imagining a World of Firsts” (lecture and interview)
Introduced by George Burpeau

February 18 – 6–7 p.m. EST (5–6 p.m. CST)

Nikki Giovanni, poet, educator, and best-selling author
“Black Heritage: ‘What if?’ and Imagining a
World Where …” (lecture)
Introduced by Georgia Floyd

February 22 – Kingsport BHM Oratorical Contest
6–7 p.m. EST (5–6 p.m. CST) Facilitator: Tanya Foreman

February 24 – Martinsville BHM Oratorical Contest
6–7 p.m. EST (5–6 p.m. CST) Facilitator: Valerie Lawrence

February 25 – Longview BHM Oratorical Contest
12:30–2:00 p.m. EST Facilitator: Andrew Yacinthe
(11:30 a.m.–1:00 p.m. CST)

February 25 –  “Aspiration of an African American Child
6–7 p.m. EST (5–6 p.m. CST)

Who Dreamed ‘What if?’” Christopher Young,
2021 Ford Bronco designer (interview)
Interview with Mark Cox

All events will be livestreamed at https://www.facebook.com/EastmanChemicalCo

Date

Feb 01 - 28 2021
Expired!

Time

8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Labels

Kingsport
function WP_Widget::widget() must be overridden in a subclass.